Farmlands appoints Sjoerd Post as new Independent Director

Jasmax CEO Sjoerd Post has been appointed to the Board of Farmlands Co-operative, joining Julie Bohnenn and John Journee as Independent Directors.

Mr Post is an executive with more than 30 years of experience in leadership positions around the world, including roles with Refining NZ, Shell and Europia. His work experience in more than 60 countries brings a wealth of supply chain, commercial sales and trading experience to the Board table.

Originally from The Netherlands, Mr Post relocated to New Zealand in the mid-1980s. Educating at State University of Groningen (The Netherlands) and achieving a Masters in Mathematics, Mr Post says during the weekends you will find him spending time with his wife and two daughters. He also enjoys music, the visual arts and sailing.

He says he began his career in IT before moving into commercial executive positions.

“I very much look forward to contributing to the direction and continued success of Farmlands,” he says.

Farmlands Chairman Rob Hewett says Mr Post’s skill-set is a major coup for the governance of the rural supplies and services co-operative.

“The appointment of Independent Directors is critical to complementing the abilities and knowledge base already around the Board table,” Mr Hewett says. “With Sjoerd, we have added a proven performer who will add a distinct voice to our discussions.

“His technical expertise, particularly around supply chain and strategy, are a welcome addition as we re-invent how we provide services and solutions to our 70,000 shareholders nationwide.”

Mr Post’s appointment follows a change to the Board structure last year, with Farmlands changing from an eight shareholder-elected/two independent Director structure, to a six/three split.

The elected representatives continue to be evenly split between the North and South Islands and must be Farmlands shareholders.

At last month’s Annual General Meeting, Farmlands announced a net profit of $8.4 million before tax and rebates. Mr Hewett took over the role as Chairman, replacing Lachie Johnstone, at the conclusion of the AGM.