Board of Directors

Lachie JohnstoneLachie Johnstone - Chairman

Lachie is the Chairman of the Board of Directors. He has a commerce background and worked as an accountant before moving onto the family farm in the Waikato, which expanded to 935ha involving an intensive bull beef system, breeding ewes and cows.

Lachie is currently a director and majority shareholder of the food logistics company, Wholesale Frozen Foods Limited. He is a shareholder in Waimaha Farms Ltd, which farms 600ha in the western Waikato, finishing bulls. Lachie was previously involved in community-based farm research projects conducted through AgResearch and the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology. He has been a councillor on the New Zealand Co-operatives Association and has served as a Board member (and Chair) on school boards.



Don McFarlane - Chairman Don McFarlane – Deputy Chairman

A Nuffield and Kellogg Scholar, Deputy Chairman Don McFarlane has directorships with New Zealand Honey Co-operative, Moeraki Ltd and Presbyterian Support SC. He chairs Clough Holdings/Duncan Ag, which manufactures farm equipment and seed drills for NZ farmers and exports to several countries. He is a director of Hunter Downs Irrigation Ltd, which has consents to irrigate 35,000ha south of Timaru.

Don, his wife Di and son Hamish farm 700ha fully irrigated near Temuka. The farm produces carrots, cereals, potatoes, grass seeds and blackcurrants. Dairy support and cow wintering, as well as winter lamb finishing are the main grazing activities.



Nikki Davies-ColleyNikki Davies-Colley

Nikki and her husband Peter have been farming and involved in the forestry industry in Northland for more than 30 years. They have been Farmlands shareholders since 2004 when the co-operative moved into Northland. Nikki is well known in the Northland business and farming community.

She is Chairman of Northpower Ltd, a Kellogg Scholar and holds a Masters in Business Administration. Nikki is also a director of Landcorp Farming Limited and West Coast Energy Pty. Limited. She is a past director of Northpower Fibre Ltd, The Tree People Ltd and MP Logging Ltd.

A Fellow of the NZ Institute of Directors, Nikki is experienced in strategic analysis, project management, motivation and ensuring that agreed strategies are carried through to implementation.



Joe Ferraby - Deputy Chairman Joe Ferraby

A Kellogg Scholar, Joe and his wife Carolyn live on their 690ha irrigated sheep and beef property in the Awatere Valley in Marlborough. Joe is also a trustee and director of a large neighbouring property and a director of a large corporate farming business with properties in New Zealand and Australia. He chairs Terra Vitae Vineyards, a publicly owned viticultural company owning 400ha of vineyards in Marlborough and Hawke’s Bay.

He is Chairman of ANZPAC Oils Ltd - the Farmlands owned distributorship of Gulf Oil for New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific Islands and is Chairman of a large family owned construction company and its subsidiaries, based in Blenheim.

His past governance roles have included PPCS, Silver Fern Farms, the Silver Fern Farms North Island Shareholders Council, Destination Marlborough Trust, Marlborough Lines and Nelson Electricity. He is a chartered member of the Institute of Directors.



Rob Hewitt Rob Hewett

Rob is a 7th generation farmer, who has farmed in the Clutha District since 2002, running a sheep and beef operation with large forestry interests. A graduate of Lincoln with a BComAg and an M.Com (Hons) in Marketing, Rob says he always wanted to be tied up with farming.

Rob has been Chairman of Silver Fern Farms since December 2013 and has been a member of their Board since 2008. Along with being Chair of the Clutha District Economic Development Agency, Rob remains Director of a number of other companies and is a former Board member of FarmIQ.



David JensenDavid Jensen

David lives at Pyes Pa, Tauranga, where he has a 300ha dairy farm, 21ha of kiwifruit and 5ha of avocados. David is a director of Livestock Improvement Corporation and was a director of Satara Co-operative, a New Zealand kiwifruit and avocado cooperative. He remains Chairman of Satara Kiwifruit Supply Limited, a related but separate entity. He is also on the Executive of Tauranga-Katikati Vet Club and Chairman of Eastpac’s Growers Forum.

Previous positions include director on the Livestock Improvement Regional Board, farm consultancy for the New Zealand Dairy Board, a councillor of the New Zealand Dairy Group, manager of the National Dairy Excellence Awards and Grower Director and past Chairman of AvoFresh.



Tony O'BoyleTony O'Boyle

Tony O’Boyle joined the Farmlands Board in late 2010. Tony, together with his wife Pattie have experience in both dairy and drystock, having grown up in the Central Plateau. They still operate a dairy farm under a 50/50 agreement in the area but now reside in the Wairarapa, where they farm a 1,000ha hill country sheep and beef farm.

Tony has had various industry roles, including with NZDG, a Chairman of the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council, with Wools of New Zealand and various Board subcommittees. Past and present directorships include being a director of both Rotorua Vet Club and ANZPAC Oils.

Tony is no stranger to the ethos of the co-operative structure, as his grandfather wrote the Co-operative Act 1956.



Independent Directors


Peter Wilson

Peter Wilson

Peter is a chartered accountant and professional company director, serving on the boards of several national companies and lives in Otaki. Peter is Chairman of Westpac New Zealand Limited and past director of Westpac Banking Corporation of Australia. He is Deputy Chairman of Meridian Energy Limited.

He previously worked in public practice in Hawke’s Bay and held numerous directorships of Hawke’s Bay companies, was Chairman of Healthcare Hawke’s Bay and the Port of Napier Limited. Peter also chaired the former Hawke’s Bay Farmers’ Meat Company during industry restructuring in the late 1980s.